AGP prove too strong for Blessington in Cox Cup

By Alex Barrett


ARTHUR Griffith Park FC won the DDSL Under 12 D1 Cup following a dominant performance over Blessington FC in Frank Cox Park on Sunday morning that saw them score four goals in the second half.

AGP quickly took control of the game, with their first shot on target coming in the opening minute from Fionn Linnanne after Reece Harman won possession, but Blessington keeper Shane Condon pulled off the first of many great saves.

AGP V Blessington 01

Arthur Griffith Park FC won the DDSL Under 12 D1 Cup on Sunday.

The resulting corner, a cross from Hamza Gafar onto the head of Maneet Abrol, was also saved by the Blessington netminder with a beautiful clean catch. 

Gafar did find the back of the net two minutes later only to be rulled offside. However it was clear the game was tipping in AGP’s favour as Reece Harman also went close with a shot from outside the box, but it soared just over the crossbar.

Some timely clearances from Blessington’s James Fibb’s proved essential in keeping Blessington in the game, and both teams headed into the half time break scoreless.

They both started the second half with renewed energy, but once again AGP began to take control and finally took the lead in the four minutes in after Fionn Linnanne slotted the ball under the keeper.

Emboldened by their opening score, AGP continued to attack, with Gafar having several shots on target before eventually finding the top corner from a direct free kick.

Blessington attempted a counter attack, but had difficulty finding the space necessary to maintain possession and scored a second soon after following a cross from Reece Harman.

AGP nearly did Blessington a favour after Myles Pujanes’ pass back to his keeper rolled straight through Bregaj’s legs but trickled just wide. Pujanes quickly resolved the situation by kicking the ball clear from the resulting corner.

Substitute Jake Malone made his presence known immediately after coming slipping two defenders before hitting the post before he rattled the net to wrap up the scoring on the day.

AGP: E. Bregaj, H. Ikolo, H. Gafar, K. Molloy, C. Kelly*, M. Pujanes, O. Alsahaf, M. Abrol, S. Moore, F. Linnanne, R. Harman, J. Malone, N. Keating, C. Smith,

Blessington: S. Condon, S. Durcan, E. Ebds*, T. Freeman, F. Gilmartin, D. O’Rourke, A. Walsh, Q. Reid, S. O’Rourke, S. Stokes, J. Fibbs, L. Devine.

Prev Ruthless Clon’ raise U14 Cup
Next Rathcoole weather Athlone revival to lift McGrath Cup

  • Tallaght father Mick Morrissey issues an important message after his son Alex tragically passed away
  • Sixteen of Ireland’s most iconic sports stars join forces
  • A message from Stephen Kenny
  • Happy Mother's Day - Sea of Change Choir
  • The Echo speaks to Trish Nolan manager of the South Dublin County Volunteer Centre

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.