Glenanne celebrates 75 years

GLENANNE Hockey Club celebrated a great season and their 75th Anniversary with a Black Tie Ball in the Hilton Hotel in Dublin recently.

Organised by the club’s Ball Committee, led by Anne O’Connor, the event proved a great occasion with Hockey Ireland President Ivy Dennis and Eithne Coyne, Principal of St Mark’s Community School, among the invited guests.

glenanne celebrations

Members of Glenanne's ladies section enjoying the club's 75th anniversary celebrations

And the season was made all the more special given that the Glenanne Men’s firsts had captured the EY Hockey League while the seconds raised the Irish Junior Cup.

Awards were presented on the night and among the recipients were Kate O’Connor (Ladies Player of the Year), Sinead Jones (Ladies Top Goalscorer), Catherine McManus (Ladies Person of the Year), Iain Walker (Men’s Player of the Year), Shane O’Donoghue (Men’s Top Goalscorer), Gerry Shaw (Men’s Person of the Year) and David Keogh (Volunteer of the Year).

Following the presentations Glenanne President, Barbara O’Malley, along with former presidents Brenda Cooper, Nuala Gillick, Mary Brennan, Paul Moore, Willie Murray, Seamus Butler, Ivan Rafter and Brendan Carr performed the cutting of the cake.

Prev Ballyfermot undo Emmets in decider
Next Local teams shine in Volleyball Ireland National Finals

  • 400 participate in sixth annual Run For Rita
  • The Echo Sport February Team of the Month - Templeogue College U16A Basketball Team
  • The Echo February Sports Star of the Month Award - Jack Woolley
  • Hero's welcome for Special Olympians Eimear Gannon and Rachel Murray
  • Stephen Kenny's reign as Republic of Ireland Under 21 manager got off to a winning start

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.