Lucan Harriers Athletic Club’s Five-Mile Road Race a success

LUCAN Harriers Athletic Club staged their hugely successful Five-Mile Road Race on Sunday with Mayor of South Dublin County Council, and club member Vicki Casserly-Naughton getting the event under way.

This year’s race was won by Mick Clohissey of Raheny Shamrock Athletic Club in a time of 24.12 and he was followed by Sean Doran of Clonliffe Harriers AC in 25.55 with Rathfarnham WSAF’s  Mark Ryan third in 26.06.

Lucan Harriers 10 120919

Johnny, Anne-Marie and Shane enjoying the day at the Lucan Harriers Five Mile on Sunday.

The Ladies were led home by Sarah McMahon of Dundrum South Dublin AC in 31.24 followed by Aoife Coffey of Lucan in 31.38 and Jill Horan of Civil Service Harriers in 31.56

The first Lucan man home and winner of the Tom Byrne Memorial Cup was Gary Farrell with Aoife Coffey the first Lucan lady home and winner of the Tom Byrne Memorial Shield.

Age group prizes went to Breda Smyth, Siobhán Foley, Mary Browne, Mark Ryan, Frank McDonald, Vincent O'Neill and Tom Turner.

Lucan Harriers 11 120919

Manuel, Leticia, Sintya and Fernando.

In the team event the Ladies race was won by Civil Service Harriers followed by Lucan and Celbridge. while the men’s equivalent was won by Celbridge AC followed by Lucan and Polish Runners Club Ireland.

Prev “Three in a row’ not on our radar” - McGrath on All-Ireland Final
Next South Dublin gymnasts clean up on the Euro C’ship stage

  • Walking miracle Karlee (8) thanks people for saving her life
  • Return of the flying ants!
  • Irish football supporters came out in force to remember Jack Charlton
  • Crowds gather to pay respect to former chairperson Brendan Moran
  • HSE launch Covid-19 Tracker App

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.