Kelly in for another EuroTeam Championship

SAGGART man Maurice Kelly has been named on the Ireland squad that will contest the European Senior Men’s Team Championship at The Diamond Country Club in Austria from September 4-8.

Kelly (Naas) last played in 2016 and joins debutants Steven Graham (East Sussex National) and Barry Hobson (Malone) along with Jim Carvill (Banbridge), John Mitchell (Tramore) and Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock) who were members of last year’s winning team.

Maurice Kelly Naas3

Saggart man Maurice Kelly 

Ireland are the reigning European champions, having captured their sixth title last year in Sweden, beating Denmark in the final.

A winner of five European Senior Team medals and as many Home Internationals, Kelly has five Irish Senior Close Championship titles to his name along with one Irish Open, one Italian Open and two Spanish Open honours.

He landed his latest Irish Close only last month when he fended off a last-round surge by Tuam’s Alan Kelly to secure the title at Enniscrone.

The Saggart man, who was inducted into The Echo Sports Hall of Fame at the 2017 Awards Night in December, is now the most successful player in the competition, having won half of the titles that have been played for since its introduction to the Irish Golf calendar back in 2009.

Prev Jude’s stars help Dubs Juniors reach All-Ireland decider
Next Lucan U16s make it a double

  • Tallaght father Mick Morrissey issues an important message after his son Alex tragically passed away
  • Sixteen of Ireland’s most iconic sports stars join forces
  • A message from Stephen Kenny
  • Happy Mother's Day - Sea of Change Choir
  • The Echo speaks to Trish Nolan manager of the South Dublin County Volunteer Centre

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.