Record label add local bands songs to album after 20 years

By Aideen O'Flaherty

A BAND that broke up 20 years ago, after bringing their music to venues all over Dublin, including Bridget Burke’s, The Belgard Inn, Whelan’s and The Underground, have finally got some of their music on vinyl – after a German record label reached out to them earlier this year.

This Certain Kind were formed in Tallaght in 1987, and originally consisted of Anthony Cully on vocals, Lee Gartland on bass, guitarists Mark Comerford and John Lowery, Alan Kiloran on keyboards and Keith Gantley on drums.

This Certain Kind

This Certain Kind members

The band played their first gig in Bridget Burke’s, where the Old Mill is now located, just a stone’s throw away from Old Bawn, where all of the band members grew up and went to the local community school.

The indie band, who list The Smiths as one of their influences, recorded their first demo, ‘Inspire’, in 1988, and by 1991 some band members had left, with Mark Sherlock then becoming the band’s bassist, while Des Connaughton and John Shortt were on guitar and drums respectively.

This Certain Kind continued gigging around the Dublin music circuit before calling it a day in the 00s, a decision which they came to “as life eventually got in the way of our dreams”.

Frontman Anthony Cully told The Echo: “Everyone got busy with work, marriages and kids, so the opportunity to rehearse went from two days a week to two days a month.”

Bassist Mark Sherlock uploaded some of the band’s material to YouTube seven years ago, and last February he received a message out of the blue from a German record label, who expressed interest in releasing some of their music.

John Shortt, the band’s drummer, told The Echo: “We got a message from a German record label who were releasing a compilation album of unsigned bands, and they said they’d found one of our tracks on YouTube.”

The label expressed interest in releasing some of the band’s tracks, and now two of the band’s songs are featured on German record label Firestation’s recently released compilation album ‘The Sound of Leamington Spa Volume 9’.

John added: “To have a vinyl album is something that we would’ve been trying to do in our 20s, so it’s great that someone from Firestation came across our music.”

While there are no firm dates set in place, This Certain Kind are considering a return to the live stage in the near future.

You can find out more at


Prev Firefighters raise €4,758 for LauraLynn children’s hospice
Next Luas ‘near misses’ with pedestrians on the rise
  • Think Shop Support Local
  • DSPCA - Ducklings
  • An American Fire engine received a warm welcome after its long journey from New York to Dublin
  • Taylor Dowling - Winter Blues
  • Txt 2 Connect - South Dublin County Partnership

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.