Templeogue’s Walshe wins swimmer of the year at Swim Ireland Awards
Swim Ireland Award winners Ellen Walshe and Ellen Keane

Templeogue’s Walshe wins swimmer of the year at Swim Ireland Awards

SWIM Ireland athletes Clare Cryan, Ellen Keane and Ellen Walshe have been named as Athletes of the Year at the 2022 Swim Ireland Awards, which took place last Saturday at the Crowne Plaza, Blanchardstown.

Ellen Walshe won the Swimmer of the Year Award, for her history making silver medal at the 2021 World Short Course Championships, where she claimed silver in the 400m Individual Medley; a first ever silver for Ireland and Ireland’s first female to win a world medal.

World Para Swimming Championship silver medallist Ellen Keane won the Para Swimmer of the Year Award.

Keane’s coach Dave Malone collected the Performance Coach of the Year accolade, world bronze medallist Nicole Turner and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Barry McClements are also in his coaching group.

Cryan won the Diver of the Year Award for her performances at the European Championships in Rome in July, where she placed fifth in the 3M Springboard Final.

Swim Ireland President Mary Haughney dedicated her President’s award to coaches Martin McGann and Grace Meade for their contributions to the early careers of international medallists Daniel Wiffen and Mona McSharry.

And, having missed out due to Covid, past President Kevin Dowling presented his award to lifelong volunteer Patricia Cleary.

Speaking at the event Swim Ireland CEO Sarah Keane said ‘We are delighted to come together, after a three[1]year hiatus due to covid, to celebrate the success of our athletes, our volunteers, our coaches, our educators and to recognise and honour the significant contribution they make day in day out.

It was fantastic to see so many of our community present to celebrate an outstanding year for Irish Aquatics.’