Alan Joyce ‘honoured’ to be recognised by the Irish Aviation Authority

Alan Joyce ‘honoured’ to be recognised by the Irish Aviation Authority

By William O'Connor

TALLAGHT’S Alan Joyce, CEO of Qantas was honoured by the Irish aviation industry at Ireland’s Aviation Gala Ball, which took place on Friday at the DoubleTree Hilton Hotel.

Over 850 guests from all across the aviation industry attended the ball, which was organised by the Irish Aviation Authority (IAA) in aid of the Irish Historic Flight Foundation (IHFF) – a charity which celebrates Ireland’s rich aviation heritage.

alan joyce qantas 

At the Gala Ball, Alan Joyce was honoured by the industry.

Mr Joyce started his aviation career with Aer Lingus in 1988 before moving to Australia in 1996, where he initially worked with Ansett Airlines.

Alan started out with Qantas in 2000 and was appointed the first CEO of their low cost subsidiary Jetstar. He was appointed CEO of the parent company in 2008 and in recent years he has successfully led the transformation of the airline.

In accepting the recognition from Paschal Donohoe TD, Minister of Transport, Tourism & Sport, Mr Joyce said: “It’s a tremendous honour to receive this recognition from the Irish aviation industry, particularly as this is where my career began.

“Perhaps more than any other industry, aviation is a team effort, so in accepting this honour I have to acknowledge all those I have worked with closely over the years, particularly at the Qantas Group.”

Eamonn Brennan, Chief Executive of the IAA said, “We’re deeply committed to promoting the growth of the Irish aviation industry.

“We believe there is tremendous value in supporting these activities and Ireland’s Aviation Gala Ball and the IHFF are just some examples.

“Later this year, we will support the Bray and Foynes air shows as well as the 30th Anniversary of Ireland West Knock Airport.”

All airlines servicing Ireland attended the Gala Ball and eight of the top ten lessors were represented.

Other guests on the night included Willie Walsh, CEO IAG, Stephen Kavanagh, CEO Aer Lingus, Christoph Muller, CEO Malaysia Airlines, Dómhnal Slattery, CEO Avolon, Pat Byrne, CEO Cityjet , Sean Brogan, CEO Stobart Air, Dermot Mannion, Deputy Chairman Royal Brunei Airlines, Michel Cawley, Chair Tourism Ireland and Kevin Toland, CEO daa.

Share This