Ireland squad named for World Cup qualifiers
The Republic of Ireland Women's National Team will get their 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup qualifying campaign underway next week

Ireland squad named for World Cup qualifiers

PEAMOUNT United’s Áine O’Gorman and her former clubmates Claire Walsh and Niamh Farrelly have been named in the Republic of Ireland squad for the upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying matches against Sweden and Finland.

Captained by Kilnamanagh woman Katie McCabe, Vera Pauw’s panel of 27 will welcome the Swedes to Tallaght Stadium on Thursday, October 21 before they head to Helsinki to face off against Finland on Tuesday, October 26.

Ireland were due to kick off their campaign last month with a game away to Georgia, but that was rescheduled to June 2022, with an international friendly at home to Australia arranged instead.

Now the focus is back on igniting the team’s Group A campaign with all tickets already snapped up for the Sweden tie, which is operating at a reduced capacity due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Ireland last played Sweden in June 2008, while their most recent meeting with Finland came in June 2016.

The squad will begin their preparations for the two games on Sunday, October 17 with their first training session at the FAI National Training Centre.


Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Eve Badana (DLR Waves), Amanda Budden (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Claire Walsh (Glasgow City), Diane Caldwell (North Carolina Courage), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Savannah McCarthy (Galway WFC), Éabha O’Mahony (Boston College), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Niamh Farrelly (Glasgow City), Ciara Grant (Shelbourne), Aoibheann Clancy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Katie McCabe (Arsenal)

Forwards: Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (London City Lionesses), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City).

Share This