Students delight at receiving  education scholarship awards
Students receiving their scholarship awards in TU Dublin Tallaght Campus

Students delight at receiving education scholarship awards

TU DUBLIN Tallaght Campus Access Office hosted the annual South Dublin County Council Education Scholarship Awards on Wednesday, March 23.

South Dublin County Council awarded scholarships to the student who achieved the highest points in the Leaving Certificate from local DEIS schools and FE Colleges, including Collinstown Park Community College, Killinarden Community College, Mount Seskin Community College, Deansrath Community College, St Aidan’s Community College, Tallaght Adult Education Service and Greenhills College.

Celebrating their awards at the event on Wednesday were the 2021 first year recipients and 2020 second year recipients.

In attendance at the event on the TU Dublin Tallaght campus were TU Dublin Vice-President for Participation, Thomas Stone, Jennifer Moroney-Ward, Senior Executive Officer, Housing, Social & Community Development, South Dublin County Council, and Councillor Joanna Tuffy.

Since 2006, South Dublin County Council has been awarding bursaries of €5,000 to South Dublin County residents attending TU Dublin Tallaght Campus.  The Scholarships were developed to encourage students from disadvantaged areas of the County to progress to third level education, by providing funding towards educational expenses they incur.

Each year, awards of €2,500 are made to eight first and eight second year students. Payment is subject to successful completion of first year and progression to second year and students must be registered on a Level 6, 7 or 8 programme.

The scholarships illustrate the importance of collaborative initiatives, in promoting and assisting local people to enter, progress in, and graduate from, third level education. To date, the scholarships have helped a total of 98 local students.

Share This