TPOTY2017: Congratulations to all of this year’s winners…

TPOTY2017: Congratulations to all of this year’s winners…

By Mary Dennehy

THE best of Tallaght was showcased last night, when people across all ages, backgrounds and estates came together to celebrate their hometown – and each other.

Like all communities, Tallaght has had and continues to have its struggles.


However, the resilience of the people who live here and their DIY-approach to building their community into a better place for all has helped grow Tallaght into a vibrant, diverse and caring community – that thrives on an inherent sense of volunteerism and activism.

This year’s Tallaght Person of the Year was once again a snap shot of life in Tallaght and the individuals, groups and businesses that work together to make it a great place to live, work and play.

All communities, all ages and all aspects of life were represented at the awards ceremony, with everybody celebrating together, on and off the dance floor.

Organised by Tallaght Community Council (TCC), the awards ceremony is now in its 34th year and was held in the Red Cow Moran Hotel.

For further coverage and pictures from this year’s Tallaght Person of the Year and an interview with your new Person of the Year, Sinead Tighe, see this Thursday’s Echo.


Award winners 



Tallaght Person of the Year 2017

Sinead Tighe was crowned Tallaght Person of the Year 2017 for being a “tenacious and devoted mam, who is striving to overcome many physical challenges to give her son Daniel a fulfilled life.”

Arts and Culture Award

Michael Thompson Old Bawn – Michael was chosen by judges for his exceptional commitment to Tallaght Youth Band and Tallaght Festival Band.


 Business Award

O’Regan Pharmacy Old Bawn – staff at O’Regan’s were acknowledged for their many free advice and testing services throughout the year and their advocacy for local charities.

Sgt Andrew Callanan Community Award

Laura Byrne Tymon – Laura picked up the community award for being an active member of Scoileanna Aonghusa Parent’s Association, volunteering weekly in the library and organising activities such as the swimming lessons.

Michael Dooley Environment Award

Lisa McAuley Old Bawn – An avid Littermug, lovingly known as the ‘Swan Lady’. Lisa mothers all of the wildlife in Sean Walsh Park and has kept the world enthralled with her videos of the circle of life in the park.

Special Needs and Carers Award

Paddy Finlay (aka Paddy Drac) Bawnville – For over four decades of community giving as the most famous vampire in Ireland.


Maurice McConnell Youth Award

Codie Preston Jobstown – Codie picked up the award for years of mentoring, teaching and inspiring kids to be the best version of themselves through education and fulfilling their potential – inspiring peers and others to give back.

Philip Preston Sports Award

Jack Woolley DeSelby – Jack is an international martial artist who became World Champion in Taekwando (54kg) in 2017. He was also recognised for volunteering his times to the Community Games after completing a traineeship with Foroige, an “excellent role model”.



Heart of Gold Award – all of the young Heart of Gold nominees were recognised for the difference they make both to their families and community

Deanna Murphy – Light up the Sky Jobstown

Olivia Owens Tallaght

Ross Lee-Fennell Tymon

Shannon Murphy Light up the Sky Jobstown

Shauna Tighe Riverview


Four Special Merit Awards were also presented to:

-A Special Merit award and standing ovation was received by the Tree of Hope team for their ‘community-led response to acknowledging those who are gone too soon’ in our communities.

-For decades dedicated to growing St Anne’s GAA Club, Pat West was presented with a Special Merit award. Well deserved

-Robbie Kavanagh from Kiltipper Cafe Bar won a Special Merit Award for his contribution to the community.

-3D Assist in IT Tallaght also received a Special Merit award.  The innovative 3D Assist team, which is made up of volunteer graduates, lecturers and students, prints 3D prosthetic arms for children – who are given the new, customised limb for free.