Kenny announces squad for Portugal and Luxembourg ties
Stephen Kenny has named his squad for the upcoming games against Portugal and Luxembourg

Kenny announces squad for Portugal and Luxembourg ties

REPUBLIC of Ireland manager Stephen Kenny announced his 26-man squad ahead of the upcoming FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifiers against Portugal and Luxembourg. 

Firhouse man Gavin Bazunu will be hoping to further cement his place as Ireland’s first-choice goalkeeper after he was named along with fellow shot-stoppers Caoimhin Kelleher and Mark Travers.

Drimnagh man Enda Stevens and former Cherry Orchard schoolboy Nathan Collins have been included among the defenders while former St Patrick’s Athletic midfielder Jamie McGrath is also in the panel.

Captain Seamus Coleman is back in the squad after missing the October double-header against Azerbaijan and Qatar through injury while West Bromwich Albion midfielder Jayson Molumby and Preston North End’s Alan Browne both return to the squad following suspension.

Ireland are set to face Portugal at a sold-out Aviva Stadium on Thursday, November 11 before flying to Luxembourg for their final FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifying match on Sunday, November 14.

Republic of Ireland Squad – Portugal & Luxembourg 

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth, on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Burnley). 

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Sheffield United, on loan from Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jamie McGrath (St. Mirren).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Troy Parrott (MK Dons, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Cardiff City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers). 

Share This