Local success at Basketball Ireland Awards reveal

Local success at Basketball Ireland Awards reveal

THERE will be plenty of local success to celebrate at the Basketball Ireland National League Player and Coaches of the Year Awards presentation at Croke Park on May 11.

Templeogue Basketball Club’s Jason Killeen has won the ‘Super League Player of the Year’ title after another very impressive season with the Reds that saw them finish runners-up to Tralee and raise the Champions Trophy for the very first time.

Basketball Awards Collage

Darren McGovern and Jason Killeen

In the Men’s National League, Darren McGovern has been named Division One Coach of the Year after he led DBS Éanna to the title and, with it, promotion back to the Super league just one  year after they were relegated.

It was a clean sweep for Liffey Celtics in the Women’s Super League as Allie LeClaire scooped the ‘Player of the Year’ accolade, young Irish international Sorcha Tiernan was declared the ‘Young Player of the Year’ for the third season in a row and Mark Byrne won the ‘Coach of the Year’ Award, also for the third successive year.