Tallaght Community Council name new committee

Tallaght Community Council name new committee

By Aimee Walsh

TALLAGHT Community Council (TCC) have announced their new committee for 2021 following their election that was held on June 1.

Following the results on Tuesday evening, the new committee is as follows: Chairperson, Liz Kennedy; John Kiberd, Vice Chair; Mary Butler, Secretary; Roderick Smyth, Treasurer; P.R.O, Tara DeBuitlear; Social Media, Kattia Siles-Tomney; Inclusion, Sinead Tighe and Planning officers are Gerry Stockil and Peter Ford.

SteppingStoneTCC 1

Stepping Stone Forests, Sean Walsh Park, one of the many local projects supported by Tallaght Community Council

Also on the committee, are members Aine Kelly, Pat Hardiman, Evelyn Riordan, Peter Daly, Norman Kelly, Albert Perris and Claire Butler and David Saunders.

The TCC AGM was also held on Saturday, May 29.

The meeting, which usually takes place in St Maelruain’s Church was held over Zoom due to current Covid-19 restrictions.

Chairperson Liz Kennedy detailed the hard work undertaken by the TCC over the last year, and highlighted the campaigns, projects and actions that the community council achieved.

Environment Motions for 2021 that were passed by the TCC included continuing to press for appropriate signage for the Dublin Mountain Way Sign on the N81, access to path on North Bank of Balrothery Weir and to celebrate the heritage of the waterway through annual heritage walks.

A number of motions for Sean Walsh Park were put forward by the committee, including full wetland restoration in 2021/2022, clarity on the outlined wetland recreation plan to the herpetological society and a feasibility study for a coffee shop, tearoom and toilets.

TCC also said that they will continue to support and champion the pilot ‘Stepping Stone Forests’ for Sean Walsh Park.

With regard to heritage and culture motions, as reported recently in The Echo, TCC are also calling for the installation of a large heritage Welcome to Tallaght sign at M50 /N81 Balrothery Cross.

They also will secure a start for a feasibility project to progress the concept for a a Heritage Centre for Tallaght.

TCC will write to the Minister with a portfolio for arts & heritage to seek funding support for the creation of an online heritage portal of Tallaght civil parish townlands.

TCC will be asking South Dublin County Council Naming Committee to preserve and use Tallaght authentic place names, townlands, such as Bawn Villa Sports Pavilion, also proposing that Tallaght Stadium retains “Tallaght” as the primary stadium name.

TCC also confirmed that The Jim Lawlor pedestrian bridge will be unveiled by the Mayor in Summer 2021, following the passing of their Honorary President in June 2020.

Share This