Tallaght Person of the Year: And the nominees are…

Tallaght Person of the Year: And the nominees are…

By Aideen O'Flaherty

Tallaght Community Council has revealed the 136 individuals, groups and businesses nominated in this year's Tallaght Person of the Year. 

More than 400 people submitted nominations this year, which resulted in 136 unique nominations being received - with all areas of Tallaght being represented. 

 Denis Bastick 181422155 c1510b8d 5547 4c66 ba68 3458e43c820f

The glittering event, which is the highlight of South Dublin County’s social calendar, will see members of the community receive recognition for their role in making a difference in Tallaght.

Dublin GAA All-Ireland winner and Glenview native Denis Bastick will be this year’s special guest.

There are eight award categories, namely the Arts and Culture Award, the Business Award, the Sgt Andrew Callinan Community Award, the Michael Dooley Environment Award, the Heart of Gold Award, the Special Needs and Carers Award, the Philip Preston Sports Award and the Maurice McConnell Youth Award. 

The nominees span the entirety of the Tallaght area, covering communities in places like Ballycragh, Killinarden, Kilnamanagh, Bohernabreena, Springfield, Kiltipper, Jobstown and Tallaght Village.

The category with the most nominees is the Sgt Andrew Callinan Community Award, with 39 potential winners, showing that community spirit is still alive and well in Tallaght.

The nominees for the award encompass both individuals and community groups, including DAMS – Dominic’s Active Men’s Social, The Tree of Hope, Imelda Hanratty of An Cosán and Margaret Fitzgerald from Tallaght Cancer Society.

The sporting nature of Tallaght is also being recognised by the Philip Preston Sports Award, with 21 nominees being selected for the award.

Numerous sports are represented among the nominees, including badminton, pitch and putt, soccer, swimming, climbing and boxing.

The nominees in the business category show the thriving nature of commerce in Tallaght, with businesses such as pharmacies, fitness instructors, hotels and solicitors making their mark in the county.

The awards have a rich history in Tallaght, which began with the first Tallaght Person of the Year, Bridie Sweeney, who won at the inaugural awards ceremony in 1984.

Bridie recently retired from a voluntary position in the St Vincent de Paul charity shop in Tallaght Village, showing that she is still firmly involved in helping the community in Tallaght.




Anne Hanrahan Watergate

Betty Kelly Bohernabreena

Bohernabreena Sheepdog trials Bohernabreena

Civic Theatre Town centre

Eimear O’Hare Farrell Kingswood

Gaelphobal Thamhlachta Tallaght village

Glenasmole Ceili at the Crossroads Glenasmole

Janet Edgeley Old Bawn

Louise Phillips Piperstown

Maria Wallace Ashgrove

Mary Lucas Old Bawn

Michael J Whelan Old Bawn

Michael Thompson (TFB) Old Bawn

Rob King Citywest

St Dominic’s Folk Group Mountain park

Tallaght Historical Society Tallaght village

Tallaght Choral Society Tallaght village

Tallaght Photographic Society Town centre

Vincent McNally (Have Pass will Travel) Westpark



Accident Repair Centre Cookstown

Bill Guest Bohernabreena

Celines Flowers Village Green

Coach Approach (Bri Banks & Lee Moroney) Ballycragh

Colm O Cochlainn Solicitors Tallaght Village

Cycle Superstore (Ray and Michael Fearon) Airton

Bohernabreena Pitch & Putt Bohernabreena

Dublin Gates Killinarden Hill

Jeffs Barbers Shop Town Centre

The Crafty Mummy Old Bawn

The Maldron Hotel Whitestown

Noel Gough Garage Tallaght Village

O’Regan Pharmacy Old Bawn

Rea McGee Tallaght Village

Kiltipper Café Marlfield

Shane Smith Fitness Aylesbury

Supervalu – O’Regans Firhouse

Tadg Riordain Motors Bolbrook

DC Print Killinarden

Tiny Vegan Kitchen (Tanya O Halloran) Citywest

Westside Press Limited Cookstown



Adam Shanley  

Aidan Thomas Bancroft

Antoinette Thompson Aylesbury

Belgard Residents Association Belgard

Chris Smith Jobstown

Light Up the Sky:  Dana Luttrell, Mark Luttrell,

Melissa Luttrell and Deana Murphy Jobstown

DAMS – Dominics Active Mens Social Mountain Park

Eamon White     SWAN – Jobstown

FAB – Firhouse and Bohernabreena Network Ballycragh

Gerry Finn Old Bawn

Imelda Hanratty An Cosan – Jobstown

James Lumumba Jobstown

Joe Connolly Millbrook

Kenneth Cooper Foodcloud, Airton

Kingswood Residents Association Kingswood

Laura Byrne Tymon

Lee Moroney Ballycragh

Maggie Smyth Jobstown

Maire Redmond TCU – village

Maírín and Leo Oman Bancroft

Mary Bulger Killinarden

Margaret Fitzgerald (Tallaght Cancer Society) Old Bawn

Niall Conroy Kilnamanagh

Noeleen Fulham Old Bawn

Robbie Kavanagh Belgard

Robbie Kelly An Post, Glenview

Sharon Byrne Avonbeg

St Anne’s Church Action Group Bohernabreena

Stephen Stroughair Kilnamanagh

South Dublin Chamber 

Tallaght ICA Guild Tymon

Tallaght Mens Sheds Glenview

Tattoo Day (in aid of HOPE) Tymon

The Now and Then Production Company Tallaght village

The Park Centre Ballycragh

Tony Feeney Belgard

Tony Hayes Tallaght

Tree of Hope Old Bawn

Vincent Whelan Jobstown



Dan Fanning Springfield

Gary Tyrell Springfield

Joe Connolly Millbrook

Lisa McAuley Old Bawn

Mary Quinlan Bancroft

Oliver Gaffney Springfield



Deanna Murphy – Light up the Sky Jobstown

Olivia Owens Tallaght

Ross-Lee Fennell Tymon

Shannon Murphy – Light up the Sky Jobstown

Shauna Tighe Riverview



Eileen Birchall Glenview

Eilish & Vincent McNally (Have Pass will Travel) Westpark

Sensory Fun with Friends Tallaght wide 

HOPE Tallaght village

Laura & Mairead (Social Circle) Killinarden

Orla Byrne Bohernabreena

Paddy Finlay Bawnville

Sean Reade Millbrook

Shane Kehoe Jobstown

Sinead Tighe Riverview

Social Circle        

Tallaght Lyons – Eilish McNally & MaryTeresa Kelly Westpark & Firhouse



Adam Doran Bohernabreena

Audrey & Gerry Fanning Kilnamanagh

Brendan Hyland Balrothery

Deborah Rafferty Killinarden

Firhouse Carmel FC Firhouse

Glenville Pitch & Putt Kiltipper

Jack Woolley DeSelby

Liam Dale Old Bawn

Mairead Hayden Matassa Mountain Park

Macra in St Anne’s GAA Bohernabreena

Old Bawn Badminton Club Old Bawn

Olwyn Carey Kiltipper

Pat West Bohernabreena

Patrick Devoy Kilnamanagh

Sandra Creagh Killinarden

Tallaght Dolphin Swim Club Balrothery

Tallaght Town FC Ballymana

The Dublin Climbing Centre Town Centre

Thomas Bateman Belfry

Tony Byrne Kilnamanagh

Westside Boxing Jobstown



Codie Preston Jobstown

Christine McGinty Aylesbury

Edel Corcoran Jobstown

Fusion Twirlers Jobstown

Jean Corcoran Haas Kingswood

Jodie Brown Whitestown

Johnny Fox Cushlawn

Jonathan Doyle Citywise

Paula Lynch Tymon

Kilnamanagh Baton Twirlers Kilnamanagh

Sharon Barrett  Balrothery

Rob Rice Westpark

Robbie O’Connor ITT

St Martin’s Twirlers Aylesbury

Correct as at time of going to press. If you have been nominated and have not received a cert please email Tallaghtperson@gmail.com