Voluntary groups given well-deserved honours

Voluntary groups given well-deserved honours

The Community Endeavour Awards took place in the Red Cow Moran’s Hotel on Saturday, November 25. Mayor Paul Gogarty was on hand to present the award show.

The Community Endeavour Awards acknowledge, promote and recognise the work of community and voluntary organisations within the administrative area of South Dublin County Council.

Image 6 Clondalkin Round Tower Heritage Group

 There is an immense richness and variety of voluntary organisations working in South Dublin and this initiative aims to recognise the efforts of those who carry out this valuable work.  All community organisations whose activities have made a difference in their community and had a beneficial effect on the residents were eligible to enter.

A wide variety of groups operating in South Dublin County submitted a total of 169 entries, and then an independent judging panel assessed each entry.

Speaking at the event, Mayor Gogarty said “As a council, we give thanks to South Dublin County’s voluntary organisations for their work over the past twelve months.  We appreciate their commitment and dedication to making this county a better place to live and work”

Among the groups honoured on the night were the St Patrick’s Day Committee in Lucan, the Facility of the Year Award went to Ballyroan Community and Youth Centre, while St Mark’s GAA Club received the Sport and Recreation Award.

The Tree of Hope received a Special Recog-nition Award.

The Rams in Rhythm group picked up the Active Age Award, while the  Gradam Cultúr agus Oidhreacht na hÉireann went to the Clondalkin Round Tower Heritage Group.

The Pink Ladies +1 received the Community Sustainability Initiative, while Denis Commins was named the Volunteer of the Year for his work with Peamount United.

See more photos on page 72.

Share This